ACT Theatre Honors Garfield Playwrights!

ACT Theatre, located in downtown Seattle, announced that it will produce plays written by seniors Messiah Biney-McCullum, Sofia Fox, and Henry Neiman at the Young Playwrights Festival this spring!

For the past few months, Mr. Kahn’s twelfth grade Language Arts classes have been participating in the Young Playwrights Program (YPP) with ACT Theatre. Students in these three classes wrote plays with the help of professional writers Rachel Atkins, Jay Chavez, and Naa Akua. These plays were then entered into a playwriting competition held by ACT Theatre, which selects eight plays from schools across the city for the Young Playwrights Festival each spring.

On Monday, December 16, at the YPP Celebration, ACT Theatre announced that Messiah’s play “Tomorrow Ain’t Promised”, Sofia’s play “To Be a Whale”, and Henry’s play “Playing With Fire” have been selected out of 326 plays submitted by students in eleven different schools!

“Tomorrow Ain’t Promised”, “To Be a Whale”, and “Playing With Fire” will be presented by a professional team of local directors and actors at the Young Playwrights Festival, which will be April 2-4 at ACT Theatre.

Congratulations to Messiah, Sofia, and Henry for winning top honors at ACT Theatre!!

Other Garfield students were recognized at the YPP Celebration with Honorable Mentions for their work: Gerardo Moreno, Matthew Dimsey, Ray Peterson, Camille Mauceri, Iris Seiwerath, Palmer Moeller, Molly Alford, Juvu Parilla, Kendrick Ung, Eamon Rasmussen, Zeirna Durrie-Vierling, Nick Bukovec, Nikko Johnston, Sean Greenley, Mychael Hodges, Charlie Hayden, Myles Garrett, Abel Teshome, Lief Greim, Shawnel (Nellie) Davison, Irya Bland, Jack Burton, Samuel Fillmore, Mason Niccoli, Max Mattox, Oliver Hunt, Leo Burney, and Hale Woodland.

For more information about YPP and the Young Playwrights Festival performance schedule, visit

Congratulations to all of Garfield’s outstanding, young playwrights!!!