Computer Science Teams Win Awards

Many Garfield students posing in front of a building at Microsoft


Congratulations to Mr. Earl Bergquist and his AP Computer Science teams that won prizes at Microsoft’s annual “Hunt the Wumpus” game design competition this week!



Team “Logan” (Flynn Connolly, Benjamin Draine, Itamar Iron-Jobes, Ezra Jones, Gavin Niccoli Owen Schmeichel, and Logan Teh) won “Best Implementation” with a detective game design hunting for the killer.




Team “Spirited Away” (Athena Brkanac, Katherine Haralson, Duncan Mack, Abby Nakamoto, Ani Njegovan, Cassie Sundberg, and Sonja Wartman) was voted “Crowd Favorite” by fellow students with a game going through the Bath House from the movie “Spirited Away.”